About NCHEMS

The National Center for Higher Education Management Systems (NCHEMS) is a private nonprofit (501)(c)(3) organization whose mission is to improve strategic decision making in higher education for states and institutions in the United States and abroad. More info

Contact Us

NCHEMS
3035 Center Green Drive
Suite 150
Boulder, CO 80301-2251
info@nchems.org
(303) 497-0301 (General Information)
(303) 497-0338 (FAX)

NCHEMS is located at The State Higher Education Policy Center (SHEPC).

Staff

Marianne Boeke
Senior Associate
marianne@nchems.org
(303) 497-0357

 

John Clark
Research Associate
john@nchems.org
(303) 497-0308

Joni Budden
Accounting Assistant
joni@nchems.org
(303) 497-0370

 

Rachel Christeson
Research Associate
rachel@nchems.org
(303) 497-0350

Peter Ewell
President Emeritus
peter@nchems.org
(303) 497-0371

 

Sally Johnstone
President
sally@nchems.org
(303) 497-0394

Dennis Jones
President Emeritus
dennis@nchems.org
(303) 497-0315

 

Patrick Kelly
Vice President
patrick@nchems.org
(303) 497-0307

Linda Leyba
Director of Computing
linda@nchems.org
(303) 497-0314

 

Aims McGuinness
Senior Fellow
aims@nchems.org
(303) 497-0301

Brian Prescott
Associate Vice President

brian@nchems.org
(303) 497-0354

 

Clara Roberts
Publications Manager
Director of Administration
clara@nchems.org
(303) 497-0390

Martha Swaggart
Accountant
martha@nchems.org
(303) 497-0349
 

Cindy Wand
Executive Assistant and Travel Planner
cindy@nchems.org
(303) 497-0345

Liz Weeks
Document Specialist
liz@nchems.org
(303) 497-0321
   

Senior Consultants

Ken Mortimer
Senior Consultant
14227 192nd Avenue, NE
Woodinville, WA 98077
Phone: (425) 702-5724
kmortimer5@gmail.com

 

Charles R. Thomas
Senior Consultant
1100 North Lake Shore Drive 16B
Chicago, IL 60611-1084
Phone: (312) 951-1876
crt@northwestern.edu


Board of Directors

Julie Bell
Education Program Director
National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)

 

Patrick Callan
Director, Higher Education Policy Institute

Sally Johnstone*
President, NCHEMS

Earl Hale
Chair, NCHEMS Board of Directors

Patrick Kelly*
Vice President, NCHEMS

 

Peter Smith
Higher Education Consultant

Alan Wagner
School of Education
University of Albany, SUNY

 

Blenda Wilson
BJW Consulting

Rhonda Epper*
Chief Student Success & Academic Affairs Officer
Colorado Department of Higher Education
NMSI Board Member*

   


NCHEMS - A tradition of service since 1969
Through its more than forty years of service to higher education, NCHEMS has been committed to bridging the gap between research and practice by placing the latest concepts and tools in the hands of higher education policy makers and administrators. Since its founding, NCHEMS has received widespread acclaim for developing practical responses to the strategic issues facing leaders of higher education institutions and agencies. With project support from multiple foundations, NCHEMS develops information and policy tools targeted at policy makers and institutional leaders that can help them set strategic directions and evaluate their effectiveness. NCHEMS also delivers research-based expertise, practical experience, information, and a range of management tools that can help institutions and higher education systems and states improve both their efficiency and their effectiveness. A particular hallmark of what we do is identifying and analyzing data drawn from multiple sources to help solve specific policy and strategic problems.

NCHEMS places these resources in the hands of stakeholders through a variety of means:

Responsiveness to higher education's practical needs is a natural product of what we do: the greatest strength of NCHEMS remains its ongoing working contact with higher education practitioners around significant problems.